2022 JJ Giltinan Championship Trophy Race 1 Sponsored by Fisher & Paykel

2022 JJ Giltinan Championship, Race 1
Race sponsor: Fisher & Paykel
George Calligeros Trophy
Saturday, 5 March 2022
Sydney Harbour
The Andoo team of Seve Jarvin, Matt Stenta and Sam Newton stamped itself as a clear favourite for the 2022 JJ Giltinan 18ft Skiff Championship with a brilliant victory in Race One of the regatta on Sydney Harbour today.
Andoo trailed the early leader Balmain Slake (Henry Larkings) for the first lap of the North-East course before gaining the upper hand on the second beat to the Beashel Buoy, then powered away to score a 2m17s victory over Tech2 (Jack Macartney, Charlie Wyatt and Lewis Brake), with the defending champion Smeg team (Michael Coxon, Ricky Bridge and Zac Barnabas) a further 51s back in third place.
Rag & Famish Hotel (Harry Price) finished strongly to take fourth place ahead of Balmain and Birkenhead Point Marina (Tim Westwood).
Today’s race started in a light NE wind, with a run-out tide, giving each team an opportunity to take a variety of preferred courses and the 25-boat fleet was spread across the harbour as it made its way to the Beashel Buoy.
Balmain Slake, Burrawang-Young Henrys (Simon Nearn), Birkenhead Point Marina and Finport Finance (Keagan York), along with Smeg and Noakesailing (Sean Langman) were prominent throughout the long windward leg before Balmain Slake grabbed a 20s lead from Burrawang-Young Henrys, Birkenhead Point Marina and Noakesailing.
The rookie Balmain Slake team retained the lead on the spinnaker run into the wing mark off the southern end of Shark Island, and continued to hold the fleet off between Shark and Clark islands.
Andoo was the very big improver on the run from the Beashel Buoy.
The team was only in ninth place, behind Finport Finance, Smeg, Yandoo (John Winning) and Tech2, as spinnakers were set but was vying for the lead by the time the fleet reached the wing mark.
At the end of the first lap, Birkenhead Point Marina was in third place ahead of Smeg, Tech2, Rag & Famish Hotel, Burrawang-Young Henrys and Black Swan (Luke Parkinson).
Once Andoo grabbed the lead, the team began to dominate the race and extended the lead to 55s on the following beat to the top mark at the Beashel Buoy.  Tech2 had moved into second place with Balmain Slake holding on narrowly ahead of Smeg and Birkenhead Point Marina.
Andoo extended the lead to 1m15s on the downwind leg back to the bottom mark off Clark Island, then increased the margin to 1m45s at the top mark on the final lap of the course.
Andoo’s skipper Seve Jarvin has already won seven JJ Giltinan Championships as a skipper and one as part of the 2005 champion Club Marine team, and after today’s performance has every chance to extend the record.
While Andoo’s performance was impressive, there were many teams in the fleet which performed strongly., including the three teams which finished behind the very experienced top three placegetters.
The Birkenhead Point Marina team of Tim Westwood, Will Dargaville and Alex Chittenden gave their best performance since coming together this season and won the handicap section of the race.
Today’s result sheet, and photos from the racing, are attached.

March                                   6                          Race 2, Cliff Monkhouse Memorial Trophy 

March                                   8                          Race 3, Alan Cole Memorial Trophy 

March                                   9                          Races 4 & 5, A.J. Reynolds Trophy 

March                                 10                          Races 6 & 7, Bill Miller Memorial Trophy 

March                                 12                          Race 8, Big Kite Memorial Trophy 

March                                 13                          Race 9

Spectators can follow the racing on board the spectator ferry.  Booking online through the club’s website www.18footers.com is essential.  


For those unable to make it out onto the water, Sail Media’s live-as-it-happens broadcast team will be on Sydney Harbour to capture all the action.   

Live streaming is available at www.18footers.com by clicking on the ’18 Footers TV’ link. 

Follow all the club’s racing throughout the 2021-2022 Racing Season:  

Club Website     www.18footers.com  

Twitter     @18skiff  

Instagram     @18skiff  

Facebook     International 18Ft Skiff

Frank Quealey
Australian 18 Footers League Ltd.