JJ Giltinan Championships

In 1937. Mr. James J. Giltinan, Secretary of the Australian 18 Footers League, planned a World’s Championship for 18 foot open boats and the League presented a trophy (popularly known as the JJ Giltinan Trophy) to celebrate the event.

Since the first 18 Foot World Championship regatta on Sydney Harbour in 1938, the JJ Giltinan Championship has always been regarded as the world’s premier 18 Footer event. It attracts boats from around the world, with many of its competitors becoming World, Olympic and National Champions in a variety of yachting classes.

The 18 Footers League has always been at the forefront of promotion and development of sailing, sail and boat design worldwide and the JJ Giltinan Championship has always been the pinnacle of the sport since the first World Championship in 1938.

The JJ Giltinan Championship regatta is held annually on Sydney Harbour and provides spectators (both on the water and along the harbour foreshores) with the world’s most spectacular racing.